In the spotlight with Nicholas Cervas Jardine

Nerd Fans this is your home for celebrating awesome talent. Today we’re putting a great Nerd Fan Artist, Nicholas Cervas Jardine in the spotlight. Check out his fantastic interview and feel free to drop a question or two yourself.

13901535_1274232532587272_3777662431273335331_n

James Chisum: Now you do a lot of 3D art. Tell us a little about that. What kind of projects do you do and how would you describe your style?

Nicholas Cervas Jardine: I do work in 3ds Max and Zbrush doing 3D modeling animation and sculpting. And of course photoshop. Myself and a small team are looking into starting a small dependant studio and starting off with a small phone app game eventually building up to bigger better titles. I really would have no idea how to describe my style. I adapt it to fit my needs. I will use cartoon style for a fun side scroller to photo realistic for an intense first person shooter. The bonus of being a digital artist. You are no confined to one style.

525881_3695204373729_990576511_n

JC: One of the things you discussed with me earlier is that you actually never set our to be an artist but instead you had your mind set on being a programmer until you had an instructor tell you you should be an artist. Talk a little about that experience and what that mentor-ship meant to you?
NCJ: Wow his name was Ian. He was my programming 1 teacher. He was awesome. I was doing fine in programming class. Was actually acing it. He came into my into to photoshop. Well we were doing mock up posters and promo material for a game. I was so locked on what to. When in doubt i turn to humor and named the game Orcs and Beams. Yes that’s right orcs with laser beams. So i sketched out this Orc and scanned it into photoshop. Never drawn before ever… he saw the poster and that was the moment he told me to switch to artist. He even had his girlfriend tutor me a couple semesters on the basics. Never for get that teacher. Ok do laugh it is literally the first thing i ever drew.

299897_2409023780018_1767400894_n

.
JC: Now Nicholas you mentioned you never had an interest in being an artist. What does being an artist now mean to you?

NCJ: The best part is seeing your image come to life. Was strange the first few times. But I was always artistic i guess. I played a lot of musical instruments growing up as well.

JC: Do you have an art piece you’re especially proud of tell the Nerd Fans a little about it.

NCJ: Yeah i show it off all the time. I did it for my wife for mothers day. I actually took a picture from Halloween of her and painted it in photoshop and had it printed and backed for her and had the kids give it to her.

Screenshot_20180812-185231

JC: You recently spoke about doing some charity work with the Houston Jacees and victory for the cure. What does it mean to you to have these amazing organizations entrusting in you?

NCJ: Its always nice to give back. The jacees seem like ago. It was really cool to see my logos and artwork on all those formats though

15069026_10209776736070148_2079603448403447988_o

JC: Your beautiful and fantastic wife Tanya is also a Nerd Fan. How does a shared love of pop culture affect your relationship as a couple?

NCJ: That is the best part. We both have similar fandoms but we have ones the other dont so we have to bring the other one into it so we always have something to talk about. Best part is im a huge football fan and she yells at the tv louder than me

262602_4742007223146_1908348678_n (1)

JC: What are you currently watching, reading and listening too?

NCJ: Anything marvel D.C. and star wars. Huge comic and sci fi fans.

JC: What’s something every Nerd Fan should try once?

NCJ: We are going to star wars land at disney. I think that has to be a bucket list item for any nerd fan boy.

JC: Where can people find you?

NCJ: I am currently making sure my last child finishes his last year of high school with his awesome G.P.A. but after that keep your eyes out for sick monkey studios.

Nic1

JC: Nicholas you have been so much fun, thank you so much for joining us is there anything you’d like to say to the Nerd Fans before we go?

NCJ: Embrace your nerdiness. This is the age of the geek. Never let your weirdness stump your fun. If you love cosplay go for it. If you like to draw draw. Find that passion and hold on to it. It what makes life worth living.

Leave a comment